Beezie Madden Elected to the Show Jumping Hall of Fame

Lexington, Kentucky, USA – February 21, 2022 – Olympic veteran Beezie Madden (USA) and renowned media executive and fundraiser Mason Phelps, Jr. have been elected for induction into the Show Jumping Hall of Fame. They will be honored, together with last year’s class of Olympic rider Margie Engle (USA) and McLain Ward’s (USA) two-time gold medal Olympic mount, Sapphire, during the Hall of Fame’s induction dinner on Sunday evening, March 6 at the Wanderers Club in Wellington, Florida.

Induction into the Show Jumping Hall of Fame is an honor bestowed annually upon select individuals whose contributions to the sport have set them apart and whose influence has had a significant impact on the sport of show jumping and the equestrian community. It is because of their talents, efforts, accomplishments, and what they have brought to the sport, that the Election Committee, comprising some of the nation’s top riders, trainers and officials, elected Madden and Phelps as the class of 2021.

Beezie Madden

For over three decades, Elizabeth “Beezie” Madden (USA) has been one of the nation’s – and the world’s – most successful riders. She has ridden in four Olympic Games (winning four medals), three World Equestrian Games (winning four medals), three Pan American Games (winning five medals) and 12 World Cup Finals, placing in the top 5 five times and winning the title in 2013 and 2018.

As a mainstay on four consecutive Olympic teams, Madden won team Gold medals in 2004 and 2008 (both with Authentic) in addition to team Silver in 2016 (with Cortes C) and the individual Bronze in 2008. She won team and individual Silver at the World Equestrian Games in 2006 and team and individual Bronze in 2014 when her mount, Cortes C, was named “Best Horse.” Madden is the only American rider to win an individual medal in show jumping World Championships more than once!

Madden’s team Gold medals at the Pan American Games came with Conquest II in 2003 and Coral Reef Via Vola in 2011 when she also won the individual Silver. She also won team and individual Bronze with Breitling LS in 2019. Madden has also ridden on 18 winning Nations Cup teams.

Beezie Madden (USA) & Breitling LS

In addition to her World Cup wins on Simon (2013) and Breitling LS (2018), Madden has wins at some of the world’s biggest and most prestigious events including the Grand Prix of Aachen (2007), King George V Gold Cup at Hickstead (2014, 2015), $1 million International Grand Prix at the Spruce Meadows Masters (2005, 2019) and Spruce Meadows’ Queen Elizabeth II Cup (three times) in addition to virtually all of this country’s biggest Grand Prix including the President’s Cup, National Horse Show, American Gold Cup, Hampton Classic, $1 million Hits Grand Prix (three times), American Invitational (2005, 2007, 2014) and many of the various Grand Prix at the Winter Equestrian Festival.

Madden was the first American to be ranked in the top-three on the FEI Jumping World Ranking List and the first woman to pass the $1 million mark in earnings. She has won the USEF Equestrian of the Year award five times, including winning it back-to-back – the first rider ever to do so – in 2006 and 2007 and then again in 2013 and 2014. She also won the USET Foundation Whitney Stone Cup in 2006, 2007 and 2014. She is the only one to win the award in consecutive years and the only one to win it three times. Madden was named the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) Female Equestrian Athlete of the Year in 1989 and in 2020 she was inducted to the Intercollegiate Horse Shows Association (IHSA) Hall of Fame. She also ranks second in career money won at Spruce Meadows.

In addition to competing, Madden runs a successful training and sales business with her husband John out of their Cazenovia, N.Y., and Wellington, Fla., bases. She has served on the boards of both the USEF and USET Foundation.

Show Jumping Hall of Fame Inductees

Since 1987, the Show Jumping Hall of Fame has inducted William C. Steinkraus, Bertalan de Nemethy, Idle Dice (1987); Patrick Butler, August A. Busch, Jr. (1988); David Kelley, Ben O’Meara, Frances Rowe (1989); Arthur McCashin, Kathy Kusner, Brigadier General Harry D. Chamberlin, San Lucas (1990); Adolph Mogavero, Whitney Stone, Morton “Cappy” Smith, Pat Dixon (1991); Eleonora “Eleo” Sears, Mary Mairs Chapot, Barbara Worth Oakford, Snowman (1992); Dr. Robert C. Rost, Joe Green (1993); Frank Chapot, Gordon Wright (1994); Mickey Walsh, Trail Guide (1995); Pamela Carruthers, Jet Run, Richard “Dick” Donnelly and Heatherbloom (1996); Edward “Ned” King, Bobby Egan and Sun Beau (1997); Fred “Freddy” Wettach, Jr., Melanie Smith Taylor, Johnny Bell (1998); Rodney Jenkins, Sinjon, Franklin F. “Fuddy” Wing, Jr. and Democrat (1999); George Morris, Carol Durand, Touch of Class (2000); Eugene R. Mische, Lt. Colonel John W. Russell, Bobby Burke, Untouchable (2001); Harry R. Gill, Clarence L. “Honey” Craven, Calypso, Gem Twist (2002); J. Russell Stewart, Sr., Main Spring (2003); Snowbound (2004); Michael Matz, For The Moment (2005); Conrad Homfeld (2006); Joe Fargis, Karen Golding, Marcia “Mousie” Williams (2007); Dr. John Steele, Abdullah, Miss Budweiser, Riviera Wonder (2008); Neal Shapiro, Balbuco (2009); John D. Ammerman, Leonard A. King, Jr., Good Twist (2010); Jane Forbes Clark, Gabor Nicholas Foltenyi, Hap Hansen, Larry Langer (2011); Starman, Nautical, D. Gerald Baker, Charles “Sonny” Brooks (2012); Daniel Marks, VMD, Seamus Brady, Steve Stephens (2013); F. Eugene Fitz Dixon, Jr., Major General Guy Henry, I Love You (2014); Elizabeth Busch Burke, Katie Monahan Prudent, Susan Hutchison (2015); Anne Kursinski, Fran Steinwedell, Walter Devereux, The Natural (2016); Norman Dello Joio, Hunter Harrison, Authentic, Sympatico (2017); Peter Doubleday, Robert Ridland, Colonel John W. “Gyp” Wofford, Bold Minstrel (2018); Leslie Burr Howard, David Distler (2019) and Margie Engle, Sapphire (2020).

The Show Jumping Hall of Fame was organized to promote the sport of show jumping and to immortalize the legends of the men, women and horses who have made great contributions to the sport. The Show Jumping Hall of Fame is located at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, Kentucky. Plaques honoring those who have been honored with induction into the Hall of Fame can be seen at the Horse Park’s Rolex Stadium. Mementos and artifacts from the sport’s history are on display as part of the Show Jumping Hall of Fame collection at the United States Hunter Jumper Association (USHJA) Wheeler Museum at the Horse Park.

For more information about the Show Jumping Hall of Fame, including the Show Jumping Hall of Fame Jumper Classic Series, please visit the Show Jumping Hall of Fame website at

Source: Press Release Marty Bauman / Classic Communications for Show Jumping Hall of Fame

Photos: © Elena Lusenti / Jumper News / Nuno Coelho Vicente