USEF Rated

Caelinn Leahy & Hennessy Fly the Highest in $100,000 Split Rock Jumping Tour Championship at Sarasota

Sarasota, Florida, USA – January 29, 2023 – The Lugano Diamonds Split Rock Jumping Tour (SRJT) highlighted the final day of the Split Rock Sarasota CSI 2* with its inaugural $300,000 Split Rock Championship Series taking center stage in the main arena at TerraNova Equestrian Center. With nearly 140 combinations contesting Sunday’s new events, the winners were awarded at heights of 1.35m, 1.25m and 1.15m to Alex Granato (USA), Caelinn Leahy (USA), and Aaron Vale (USA), respectively.

The new championship series operated under a winning round format with the top 25% of each section returning for the second shortened round in reverse order of qualification from the first round as each championship tackled a new track set by Canada’s Peter Holmes.

The $100,000 1.25m Championship hosted 44 contenders that would only offer spots for 11 in round two. Simply jumping a clear round wouldn’t cut it to secure a spot in the second round as riders needed to be quicker than 70.509 seconds.

The second round proved more challenging and it wasn’t until seventh in the order that we would see a double-clear finish. Madison Kondraki (USA) and E Storm Cat laid down a fault-free round that looked nearly unbeatable in 40.649 seconds.

With only three left in the order, Caelinn Leahy (USA) entered aboard Andrew Bourns’ Hennessy, laying it all on the table to deliver a clear finish with a new leading time of 39.587 seconds.

Alex Granato (USA) followed with Indio, proving the time could be even quicker as they finished in 38.663 seconds, but heartbreak at the penultimate fence, the Split Rock oxer, would earn the pair a four-fault score. The last to go,

Taylor Flury (USA) and Carrasca Z, were eager for the win, giving it their all as they jumped a speedy fault-free round but fell just short in a time of 30.94 seconds. Leahy would take the lead just ahead of Flury while Kondracki rounded out the top three. 

Final Results – $100,000 1.25m Championship

1) Caelinn Leahy (USA) & Hennessy – 0 / 0 – 39.587

2) Taylor Flury (USA) & Carrasca Z – 0 / 0 – 39.94

3) Madison Kondracki (USA) & E. Storm Cat – 0 / 0 – 40.649

Source: Press Release from SRJT – Split Rock Jumping Tour

Photo: © SRJT / Winslow Photograpy